When you use the CloudStor desktop app, you can edit files on your computer and then the app will sync them with your remote CloudStor drive. If you share a drive or use multiple computers, though, there’s a chance that a single file will be changed on more than one local app before you can sync the files. For example, you and a colleague are partnering on a project, for which you’re sharing a CloudStor drive. You each record your research results in a spreadsheet. However, you’ve both happened to edit the spreadsheet on your own computers at the same time.
When multiple new copies of a file exist, the CloudStor desktop app recognises that you could lose data if it simply overwrites the remote file with your local copy. Instead, the desktop app will create a copy of the local file called the conflict file, download the remote version of the file, and then notify you that it found a conflict.Because CloudStor won’t modify your files in any way, the desktop app won’t try to merge the changes. You’ll need to compare the files to each other and manually merge the edits. Once you’ve completed this process and saved to the original file, you can safely delete the conflict file. There are tools that you can use to help you compare and merge edits to the files, like WinMerge.