There are two approaches, depending on your requirements.
If you need to share files temporarily with somebody outside of your institution or somebody that does not have an active CloudStor account you share those files by:
- Sending files to a user with CloudStor's FileSender tool;
- Creating a public link to the directory location or file you want to share.
If instead you need to share files with somebody as part of ongoing project it may be worth querying your institutional CloudStor/I.T. admin about whether a CloudStor External Collaborator account can be created for that user. (note: eligibility and requirements for a Collaborator account will vary by institution)
Sending files to a user with CloudStor's FileSender tool
FileSender can be found as one of options along the top black menu bar in CloudStor.
For a detailed look at the options available and how to share see: https://support.aarnet.edu.au/hc/en-us/articles/230067927-How-do-I-use-CloudStor-FileSender-
Sending a file to a user with Filesender is useful when:
- You have a complete file that you want to send to another user;
- You have a complete file that can be edited or added to by another user and sent back to you;
- You need to know who has downloaded or accessed the file and how many times it has been accessed (via the 'Send me daily statistics' and 'Send me a report when expired' advanced options);
- You want to password encrypt the contents of the file for added security.
Creating a public link to the directory location or file you want to share
You can share files with both users that have CloudStor accounts and users that do not directly from your CloudStor directory using public links.
To generate a public link for a file or directory follow the below steps:
- Find the file or directory that you would like to share within CloudStor and select the ellipsis (...) icon, from the drop menu select Details
- From the menu that opens on the right side of the screen, first select the Sharing tab, then select the Public Links sub-tab and then select the Create public link button.
- From the pop-up menu, configure your public link as required:
- Name your link logically; this helps identify which links provide access to whom if you create multiple public links for a given file;
- Configure options for what can be done to the file or directory; by default public links will provide download/view access. However, if a directory is shared you can also enable users with access to upload links into that directory;
- Set a password for access if required; for security purposes we recommend password protecting any public links you create and sharing the password with the share users via a secure method. (e.g. encrypted chat application or temporary text sharing tool);
- Set an expiry date if required; again we recommend expiring access to links when users will no longer require access to the file or directory (e.g. after project completion date);
- Send link via email; you can also choose not to share via email and instead copy the link after it has been generated and send via your preferred sharing channel.
- From the menu on the right side of the screen you can see your new share link that has been created, from this menu you can share, edit or delete that public link.
Sending a file to a user with a public link is useful when:
- The user you are sharing with will require ongoing access to a file that is still currently being worked on (updated and saved to CloudStor) by you;
- The user you are sharing with requires access to a directory that they will need to upload to or work on multiple files that you are still working on;
- The user you are sharing with needs a secure location to upload files to and you want (or require) those files to be stored in your CloudStor directory rather than a public file hosting provider location.
- Will a user with a public link be able to see all my other files if I share a public link with them?
- No, users can only see the file you share with them explicitly. If you share a directory, the user can only see the files contained inside that directory and not any other directories or files co-located in the same location as the directory that is shared.